GOC Elections: Ben Nunoo Mensah re-elected as president

Ben Nunoo Mensah has been re-elected as the President for the Ghana Olympic Committee on Monday by Congress.

The former Ghana Weightlifting Federation president garnered 35 votes to beat Former General Secretary Richard Akpokavie to retain the seat.

Ben Nunoo Mensah garnered 35 votes whilst Richard Akpokavie had 28 votes.

Ghana FA Executive Council member Frederick Acheampong garnered 41 votes to win the GOC Treasurer position beating his competitor Christopher Essifie who had 22 votes.

For the General Secretary position, Mohammed Sahnoon won the seat with 41 points as Richmond Quarcoo had 22 votes.

SWAG General Secretary Charles Osei Assibey lost to Mohammed Mahadi for the GOC third Vice president position.

The Armwrestling Federation president garnered 23 votes whilst the Ghana Fencing Federation president had 40 votes.

Paul Atchoe retained his position as the GOC first vice president with 37 votes beating Ghana Table Tennis Association president Mawuko Afadzinu who had 26 votes.

In the other categories, the five federations recognised by the International Olympic body which were elected by Congress were:

Michael Aggrey ( Ghana Golf Association), George Okoe Lamptey (Amateur Boxing), Albert Frimpong (Baseball and Softball), Emmanuel Tetteh (Judo) and Delphina Quaye (Swimming).

Elections results below:

1.Richard Akpokavie Esq – Hockey 28

2.Ben Nunoo Mensah – Weightlifting 35**


1.Mawuko Afadzinu – Table Tennis 26

2.Paul Atchoe – Volleyball 37***


Evans Yeboah – Badminton 12

Frederick Otu Lartey – Taekwondo 51***

Charles Osei Asibey – Armwrestling 23

Mohammed Mahadi – Fencing 40***


Richmond Quarcoo – Squash 22

Mohammed Sahnoon Esq – Cycling 41**

Deputy Secretary General

Hon. Ahmed Shaib – Weightlifting 44 *

Bawa Fuseini – Triathlon 19


Frederick Acheampong – Football 41*** Christopher Essilfie – Olympian 22


Isaac Aboagye Duah – Tennis 41

Christopher Darko – Amankrah – Athletics 22

Five Representatives elected from National Federation’s affiliates to the International Federations recognized by the IOC and whose sports are included in the Olympic programme :

Michael Aggrey – Golf

George Okoe Lamptey – Amateur Boxing

Albert Frimpong – Baseball

Emmanuel Tetteh – Judo

Delphina Quaye – Swimming

One elected member from a non-Olympic sports federation
Abdul Haye – Bodybuilding (unopposed)

One elected member from a National Federation affiliated to the GOC :

Samuel Ayer – SESSA 27

Dr.Bella Bello Bitugo – GUSA 36

Three other members elected by Congress:

Rev. Emmanuel Dzani Nikoi – Netball

Michael Nkow Ayeh – GES

Emmanuel O. Asare – Cricket

Categories: Breaking News,News,Sports

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.